Wards and Nursing

The hospital’s inpatients stay on our wards, which are generally divided between patients who have had surgery, and those who have medical conditions.

The exception to this are the Medical Assessment Unit and the Surgical Assessment Unit – which is where patients go to be assessed for either Medical treatment or Surgical treatment when they are first admitted. These Units then usually move them on once they are stabilised to spend the rest of their stay on another suitable ward.

You can find general information about the wards here, but it is worth making a note of which ward you or your relative/friend are on and speaking to the staff there about any detailed matters, as the wards all function slightly differently, according to the patients they are looking after.



Ashcombe Birth Centre

Medical Assessment Unit

Hutton Ward

Uphill Ward

Berrow Ward

Harptree Ward

Kewstoke Ward

Steepholm Ward

Cheddar Ward

Sandford Ward